Introducing the 2023 Hall of Fame Inductees

by | Sep 11, 2023 | Latest News, National

Australian Oztag are pleased to announce the recent inductions into the Australian Oztag Hall of Fame: Justin Brown, Karen Breaden and Ross Thomas.

Australian Oztag (AO) congratulate the 2023 Hall of Fame inductees – Justin Brown, Karen Breaden and Ross Thomas, who have been recognised for their outstanding service to the Australian Tagaroos and the game of Oztag.

In August, Justin, Karen and Ross all attended the 2023 ITF Tag World Cup in Ireland where their achievement was announced at the official Australian Tagaroos function.

HOF Inductees: Justin Brown (left), Karen Breaden (middle), Ross Thomas (right)

It was an incredible opportunity for the Australian Tagaroos squad to acknowledge and honour their many accolades over the years.

Justin Brown

Category: Player

Representative region: East Coast Dolphins

Years of Service: 18 years

Justin Brown first represented the Tagaroos in 2001 and has continued to play for Australia for 18 years. He has progressed from the Mens 30’s through to the Mens 50’s, recognised for his strong leadership and unwavering sportsmanship. He has also contributed to the sport in coaching local juniors and captain-coaching his local, state and national senior teams.

Karen Breaden

Category: Coach

Representative region: ACT Cougars

Years of Service: 16 years

Karen Breaden of the ACT Cougars region first represented the Tagaroos in 2003 and has continued to do so for 16 years as a Coach. She has been recognised for her thorough knowledge of the game and unwavering commitment to her players. Karen has become a true ambassador for the sport, embodying the spirit of dedication, sportsmanship, and leadership.

Ross Thomas

Category: Player

Representative region: Illawarra Steelers

Years of Service: 16 years

Ross Thomas of the Illawarra Steelers region first represented the Tagaroos in 2003 and has continued to represent his country for 16 years. As both a player and coach, Ross leads with commitment and passion. His humour, sportsmanship and genuine encouragement makes him a highly valued member of the Oztag community.  

With only 20 people coming before them, it is a great achievement and one that is highly respected among the Oztag community.

Australian Tagaroos historian and long-serving Hall of Famer, Gary Kinkade commended the recipients on their achievement.   

“Justin, Ross and Karen are so deserving of this honour due to their incredible and dedicated service to Australian Oztag and in particular the Australian Tagaroos,” Kinkade said.

“All three are true ambassadors of our great game and have represented the Tagaroos for 18, 16 and 16 years respectively,”

“They continue to assist, support and represent the game at the grass roots, National and International level,” Kinkade said.

Congratulations to Justin, Karen and Ross on their worthy induction into the Australian Oztag Hall of Fame.

Australian Oztag Hall of Fame list